Search Term Poetry – Spring Edition

Dear Google,

you do still encrypt your search results. As a security enthusiast I should like this but I rather suspect you want me to use your AdWords tools. Please stop showing me ads for your “starter package” on all social networks, and give me the raw material for my poetry back.

For now I will penalize you by displaying the logo of your competitor although, admittedly, I would find yours more appealing.

Bing logo (2013)Now here is the poem.

As usual, every line corresponds to a search term from WordPress Stats covering the first quarter of 2014. Truncation of search terms at the beginning or the end is permitted, other editing is not.

The images are very much like the search terms – blurry, stored accidentally, and I try to compress and truncate them to serve a purpose.

And yes: the title really was a search term.

the theory and practice of combining just about anything
quality assurance poem
funny ways to combine 2 cliches

hoops smoke effect
response to existentialism

intuitive understanding
shallow and deep reading

non linear art
describes the tendency of the force

polarize antifragile
what is the measure

blank sheet
trusted certificate

google on my heat
myzen engineering

build einstein refrigerator
steampunk heat sink

call center puzzle
automatic clock

chinese wall
scrapyard combines

geonometric art
intersecting lines

poetry-02

sitting gyroscope
entropy and no momentum/energy

upward communication
i need to remember this

elastic glancing collisions
least action

center of mass
snippet shooting

fringe science theories
intuitive symbols

which is more important
to just roll over bump

16 thoughts on “Search Term Poetry – Spring Edition

    • You honor me – by quoting real artists! But I rather call my ‘poems’ crowdsourced art ๐Ÿ™‚ So if I will ever publish my poetry financial analysts with MBAs and Silicon Valley VCs will also buy the book ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Bing, is there anyone who actually uses it other than those who accidentally land on it as the default search engine for Microsoft operating systems? This is really clever post, Elke. Most people turn on their heat, but I suppose you could Google it instead. Would possible save on electricity bills ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think that that search term was related to post which was really about “googling heat” – sort of:about a scientific paper that discussed how operators of datacenters would host computers in people’s homes… and that machines would be used as heaters. So you don’t google your heat yourself, but if you “turn on the heat” the provide will give your computer-heater more work and thus others will google your heat for you in sense ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I love the imbedded photograph of the poet. Hmm… does it reflect a kind of self-consciousness that search term poetry arouses in those of us guilty of search engine addictions?

    • Now I should better come up with a clever / postmodern / geeky remark! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I think creating that poem has exhausted all my creativity ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I believe the attempts to look for search terms meeting formal criteria will cripple my creativity ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or more honestly: The pool of available search terms is not that large – I guess I this would result in a single Haiku per half a year.

  3. You get such great search terms and it makes me smile to know I have a pretty good idea — in some cases — of which post turned up against which search term.
    And speaking of smiles, that’s a lovely one you have in that third-last picture. I think it matches the spirit of the poetry exactly ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hadn’t realized the hidden agenda behind encrypting the search terms. Now that is interesting! I must look deeper later on maybe during the weekend.
    As for BING. I must admit that I don’t use it much. As an android user I am, unfortunately, pretty much married to Google. I will say, though, that the few times I did use it I found it at least as good as the competition. I have no real way at this point of determining whether it is “better” but at least for my purposes, if Google folded tomorrow at least I would sense no loss as far as a search engine is concerned.
    And speaking of search tools, just yesterday I shifted my focus away from the eLearning development around data masking and toward the discovery project. The company I am currently working with has several tools. Besides the aforementioned data masking tool there are two others. The second tool I will be working with is called “discovery.” It’s used for identifying PII (personally identifying information) in information systems and for helping you determine the nature and extent of threats any of the discovered classes poses. As such it’s a companion for the data masking tool. Not only will it find if there’s PII, seacrching against policy but it will also determine the extent to which the fields contain PII and match it to search rules or overriding policy.
    In order to get ready for that phase, yesterday, besides installing the discovery tool I also had to install postgres and Apache Tomcat on the local machine. While I have done a small bit of work with postgres in the past, Tomcat is new to me. Essentially it is a pure Java based server environment–important to have since all three. tools I’m developing eLearning content for: Camouflage, Discovery and Database Unity Framework are Java based.
    It’s still winter here. The bottom four pictures in the link that follows were taken just a short time ago right after I arrived at work. http://imgur.com/a/3Fien

    • This comment will definitely enhance the pool of Q2 search terms – thanks, Maurice!
      I use the free webmaster tools provided by both Google and Bing for all my blogs and websites, and I would resort to creating poetry from those if the supply of search terms would cease. Google recently updated them so that you can finally determine with certainty if an “impression” has resulted in a click.
      From these tools I know that I am obviously an internet authority for these three topics:
      – student-friendly quantum field theory (students searching for reviews of the book I guess)
      – mice in microwaves – people with the same issues I had.
      – gyroscopes. My first post on gyroscopes is still the most popular ever – again students cramming for exams in classical mechanics?

      This discovery tools sounds like the tools cloud providers probably use to search for copyrighted content and the like. Or that tool introduced in Windows Server 2008 that will tag contents on file servers with label denoting different security classifications – also marketed as a cloud-related tool today.

Leave a Comment

