Recommended Listening: The Unemployed Philosopher’s Podcast

In 2012 I have shared some of my memories on career-related decisions and transitions I had made. With hindsight I can say I would not change a thing – but I would have wished that resources such as Dan Mullin’s Unemployed Philosopher’s Blog or Julie Clarenbach’s site Escape the Ivory Tower would have been available back then.

Dan publishes podcasts on alternative jobs for academics regularly, mainly targeted to humanities graduates. However, I am always astonished by how well the advice and insights given by Dan’s guests would have applied to physics at the time I had graduated and would still apply – based on my anecdotal evidence from discussions on alternative careers in physics.

I like this Episode 6 in particular, as Julie discusses ‘career versus skills’ and the overarching but underestimated role of culture.
[Is ‘Episode’ alluding a bit to Star Trek? SCNR]

Above all, she encourages graduates not to be too modest and she tells you that some grieving and ‘panic’ is normal when you make a transition.

It’s simply good to know that a transition that might feel strange, alien and disturbing is very, very normal after all.

I would even extend the scope of this discussion and validity of advice to any major transition, that is associated with cultural changes – such as: leaving the global corporate world and turning to run a mainly local business, changing industry sectors, working self-employed after a longer period of employment or vice versa.

One thought on “Recommended Listening: The Unemployed Philosopher’s Podcast

  1. Thanks for recommending the podcast! It’s heartening to know that it’s appreciated even though I’m still new at this.

Leave a Comment

