A Blank Sheet of Paper

I own quite a bunch of domains and I was pseudo-blogging a while back. ‘Pseudo-blogging’ refers to editing old-school websites not based on blog software. Anyway I still believe that – in contrast to what many usability experts might say – that it is not the user interface that matters. There were times of intense (pseudo-)blogging and if I would have needed to code anything in a text editor that would not have stopped me. There were times of silence and the most user-friendly interface would not have made be talk.

The results of these pseudo-blogging activities are some websites that are probably outdated. Actually I am not sure if they are really that outdated. I found there are recurring topics in my writing, and suddenly I resurrected an old text that turned out to be perfectly up-to-date.

So what to do with all those old sites? Unfortunately I am  good at data and software migration and I have technically updated these sites over and over.

But I like the idea of starting all over again, using a blank sheet of paper. Randy Komisar talks about business and startup in his (in my opinion) landmark book – The Monk and the Riddle. In passing he mentions that he considered business an art and starting new businesses equivalent to writing on the proverbial blank sheet of paper.

I second this – I also like the blank-sheet-of-paper-feeling – with respect to business, but also with respect to (pseudo-)blogging.

However, I am simply unable to dispose old content. Thus I have  closed most of existing websites by deactivating the pages by means of my home-grown CMS. Now I am editing or re-arranging the old pages, actually re-discovering them. So my existing websites look bleak – on purpose.

(This is sort of notice to the readers of my existing websites who might have followed a link to this blog. I am still in the mode of clandestine blogging, but I provided some links that might be found.)

2 thoughts on “A Blank Sheet of Paper

Leave a Comment

